Buttoned Up

Buttons Close Up

TGIF! Today I wanted to share with you another small DIY project I recently completed. I purchased this J. Crew wool coat a while back for $49.99 because it was “damaged’. The only “damage” I could see what that it was missing a few buttons (i.e. see the lonely wool ones in the picture above).

Add Vintage

Since there was now way I could wear this coat without being able to close it, I was on a mission to find some funky buttons replace the normal looking wool ones it came with. I stumbled across this Etsy shop called Add Vintage and ordered 12 fabulous gold buttons for only $4.00. Shipping was only $2.50 so I felt like I got quite a deal!

Close up, no sunnies

While watching TV,  I completed my projected and I am very happy with the results. I feel like it is a brand new coat! Although the gold may not go with every outfit, it certainly makes a simple sweater dress much more sophisticated.

CLOSEup

If lions are not your thing, there are a lot of other great buttons to try too! It is such an easy and cost effective way to switch up your entire look.

Full Coat with Buttons

With Zara Sweater

And if you need help sewing a button (hey we’ve all been there) this is a pretty good guide. Is there another online shop you love with fantastic buttons? Please share! Have a great weekend 🙂

Zara Sweater Dress $19.99. Hue Tights $7.99. Forever21 Leopard Flats $12.99

Leave a Reply

