Santa Fe Style

Recently I was able to travel to Santa Fe to visit one of my best friends from growing up! Although she has been living out there for almost 5 years, it was the first time I have ever been able to get out there and explore the Southwest! I now completely understand why she has fallen in love with that part of the country.

Santa Fe Collage

My friend was very East coast, so when she picked me up in her green cowboy boots and flannel shirt I realized how much Santa Fe life has now become her new way of life. It is a place unlike anything I have ever visited! I could not really believe that she lived in an adobe style house in the mountains away from the hustle and bustle of a city.

Santa Fe Plaza

Santa Fe’s downtown called “The Plaza” is filled with art galleries, boutiques, and restaurants. While I was there, I was on a mission to find jewelry with White Buffalo stone and a Southwest inspired sweater. The shops although gorgeous, cater to a very wealthy cliental and since most pieces are one of kind everything is very expensive. On the edge of the plaza local artisans lay jewelry to sell out on beautiful carpets. Not only do you get the best deal there, but most likely you are meeting the artist him or herself who created your project. Another plus is that you are able to negotiate your price a lot more there since there is no overhead. Luckily my friend Christina is skilled at getting the best price and I was able to get a unique ring and meet the family who mined the stone and created the piece.

My White Buffalo Ring :0)

I wanted to pick up other souvenirs at a different price point so my friend took me off the beaten path to Jackalope which was much more affordable. I wish I had a uHaul to take even more pieces from this shop back home with me.

Jackalope- Great Shop at all price ranges

Another place you cannot miss is Mama’s Minerals. Although there are really high end stones in store, there are some really affordable gems too. If you are into this druzy or geode trend going on, you can get a pair of earrings or make your own necklace for under $20!

Mama's Minerals Santa Fe

As for other activities, Ten Thousand Waves Spa was a very special treat that we have been taking about for years. We treated ourselves to massages (which thankfully is much less expensive for treatments than Boston and so much MORE luxurious). I cannot even begin to tell you how amazing this place was!

10 Thousand Waves

My friend is a little tired of New Mexican food so we were able to go international and try some fabulous places such as Clafoutis Bakery and Jambo. I did convince her to go with me to  The Plaza Cafe so I could experience some of the cuisine finally too 🙂 So much of the food even at the non New Mexican restaurants incorporated Red or Green chiles (even grilled cheese sandwiches) which I thought was delicious.

Santa Fe Sweater in the Plaza

I did finally find a sweater on sale that fit my specifications of a Southwestern style look.  After returning to Boston, I have been noticing so many different brands taking on their version of this Geometric/Southwest/Navajo/Aztec pattern.  Here are few options out there if you are into this style!

Mara Hoffman $550

Screen Shot 2012-12-02 at 9.10.11 PM

Autumn Cashmere $269Autumn Cashmere $269

C by Bloomingdales $124C by Bloomingdales $124

BB Dakota $95

BB Dakota $95

Spool No.72  $76

Spool 72 $76

H&M $29.95

H&M $29.95

Forever 21 $22

Forever 21 $22

This of course is not available online by the time of this post, but I wanted to show you this Bar III sweater I am hoping to pick up at Macy’s sometime soon if I can find one in stock!

Macy's Bar III

I know these are not everyone’s favorite sweaters, but they are easy to throw on with jeans and a tee shirt for running errands and still looking put together. They also remind me of a few wonderful few days I got to spend with one of my very best friends which makes me like them even more!

Let me know what you think of Santa Fe and Southwest styles. Thanks so much for taking the time to read this today! Have a nice day 🙂

4 thoughts on “Santa Fe Style

  1. You really captured the colors and the culture of the place. I am amazed at the ring you purchased on a budget! Loved the collage. It is a great way to introduce the themes on your blog. Keep up the good job.

  2. Cait! Great post about Sante Fe, and I agree with Anne Marie, the first picture is fantastic. I love that gem shop picture, south west style is so different then what we see in north east cities. Jealous about your spa time, the best kind of treat for a girls day (or any day 🙂 ) Thanks for sharing!

  3. Santa fe is so cool…you are so lucky to have friends all over the world to visit..
    I envy you!!!!!
    Anne Marie just loves what you post
    I wish you showed your BFF with her hot green cowgirl boots…
    Get it? Cowgirl not COWBOY… Hahaha

Leave a Reply

