Hang Time

Good morning!

So after a year of living in my apartment, I finally had my print framed that I ordered from Etsy. My goal was to find a frame that I could refurbish myself and just get some new mat board cut for it. However, I did not realize how hard it would be to find a vintage frame that fit a 20 X 20 print.

Since my thrift store finds were not that lucky, I went to a few framing places in search of the custom perfect frame. In order to find something that was even close to what I wanted (silvery, ornate) it was over $350. If I had purchased an authentic piece of art this would have made a lot more sense. However, since this was just a print of a photo I could not justify spending that much.

On a search for some other items, I randomly went to Michael’s and they had a sale going on for 60% off of their custom framing! Their prices are already so much lower then other framing stores and with this discount it made it perfect. Also, if you chose to place the print in the frame yourself and add your own hardware to the back you save another 10%. (I did not have the print with me so this worked out). I love the way it turned out and I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to frame a cheaper print!

Here is a close up of the print.

Source: etsy.com via Caitlin on Pinterest

Background on why I picked this image: It was a beach scene (I love the beach more than anything) and it was yellow in color (so it would match my whimsy room). I messaged the shop owner and asked if he could make it bigger since the only size online was 8″X8″. He replied in seconds and said he could make it much bigger. Within a few days it arrived. To my astonishment when I opened up the box is that it is of a beach in Narragansett, RI a place so near and dear to my heart! I had no idea when I first picked it out it was a beach I spent many years next to. I knew it was meant to be.

I was alone the day I tackled this, and I never had added my own hardware to a frame or hung it myself. So just in case you are in this situation and you are hanging a big piece of artwork with only two hands, here are my instructions on how to safely do it.

Tools: Measuring Tape, Hanger Hooks, Hammer, Screwdriver, Wire, Wire Cutters (or Strong Scissors)

1)Gather all of your tools. Place picture frame face dow on a solid surface. If you have glass in the frame you should remove it to prevent it from cracking. I had plexi glass in my frame since I am putting it over my bed and I kept it in during this step and it survived.

2)Measure 1/3 of the way down the frame and make a mark.

This is where you are going to attach your hanging hardware.

3)Screw in Hardware. I used my electric black and decker screw driver which made it very easy to do.

Repeat on the other side!

4)Measure and Cut hanging wire 1 1/2 times the width of the frame. Attach one end of the wire to the hook by pushing 3 inches of wire through the hook. Bend the 3 inch wire back and wind it tightly several times around the wire.

Repeat on other side as well!

Now for the trickiest part. Hanging the item on your wall. You want to make sure you purchase very sturdy hooks for the right weight frame. Since this is going over my bed and I am a bit paranoid, I am using 75 pound hooks. These ones in particular are for dry wall. So if you are not hanging directly into a stud then you should use these ones for sure!

Since I am doing this alone, I did not have someone there to hold up the picture while I stood back to judge if it was in the right place. A trick I learned from my friend Lisa G. is to use blue painters tape. Cut 4 pieces of tape to match the actual size of your frame.

Then you can step back and make sure it looks perfect before you start aerating your wall for your landlord.

Once you have moved the tape around to the right spot, get out your hanging hooks. For me since I was using a large dry wall screw, I drilled a small pilot hole first, then screwed in the first hook. (Depending on your surface you may not need to do this).

I peeled away the tape before I screwed the nail all the way into the wall. I then repeated this again on the other side. (Note if your frame is small you may only need to use one of these hooks for support just follow the directions on your box!)

Since it is a dry wall hook, there are 3 safety nails you can hammer in too for extra security. Since this is above my bed I went for it just to be safe!

So now my two hooks are up and ready to hold the wire I put on the back of my frame.

Now the picture is up and ready to be enjoyed!

As for the rest of my room…I still have quite a few projects to go!

Have a great day and thanks for reading!

One thought on “Hang Time

Leave a Reply

