Crisp Button Down Shirts

Thank you for stopping by my blog today! Last week was a bit hectic with work so I am very delayed in my posts. I will make it up to you all this week.

Since I work in an office setting for my day job, I wanted to share with you my favorite office staple: The Crisp  Button Down Shirt. During the week, I tend to tuck them into pencil skirts or my trousers and layer them with sweaters or blazers in the cold months (as I am sure most of you do). I also get a a lot of use out of these shirts on the weekend too and usually wear them un-tucked with jeans and heels and large statement jewelry or scarves. I do not think anyone can have enough of this staple especially with how versatile it is. Obviously these shirts do not have a long shelf life (especially the white ones) because they can tend to get stained and show their wear and tear more than most other shirts.

Source: express.com via Caitlin on Pinterest

As you know, not all white button down shirts are equal. You can certainly spend a lot of money on this staple at some of the fancier department stores and get it in a wide range of fabric blends. For me, since this is something that will probably only last a year or so, it is painful for me to sink too much money into this type of clothing item. So my personal favorite is the Express Essential Stretch Shirt. This is probably the only item I ever purchase at Express but it is by far my most go to shirt during the week.

The cost of this Express shirt is $49.90.

I have purchased button down shirts from dozens of places and for some reason due to the where the seams are placed, this fits me the best. The length is also great for me since there are days that I wear it un-tucked. I also really love that this shirt has just the right amount of stretch to it.

My absolute favorite part of this shirt is the material.  It may not be the most luxurious, but you can wash and put this in the dryer and never need to dry clean it (right there that saves SO MUCH money). I also almost never have to iron it, especially if I can grab it when it comes right out of the dryer. If for whatever reason it does get crinkled you can pop it back into the dryer for a few minutes. There are over 8 pages of reviews on this so have a look and see what you think! http://www.express.com/essential-stretch-long-sleeve-shirt-38517-721/control/show/3/index.pro

I would recommend getting at least two white button down shirts (at a minimum) in your rotation. However, there are a lot of other colors to choose from. I also have this blue one:

Source: express.com via Caitlin on Pinterest

Today not only is this shirt buy one get one 50% off, but with code 9372 you can get $15 off of your $30 purchase, $30 off your $75 purchase, or $60 off you $150 purchase. I am definitely going to stock up on these shirts! If you cannot afford to buy it today, just wait- there are ALWAYS sales from Express so I refuse to buy anything full price.

Also here are some great crisp shirt looks.

Source: latimesblogs.latimes.com via Caitlin on Pinterest

styledarlingonline.wordpress.com  Caitlin

thesimplyluxuriouslife.com

Carolyn Bessette Kennedy was one of my style Icons growing up before her tragic passing. She worked at Ralph Lauren before she married JFK Jr. so I am sure most of her button downs came from there. Regardless she always looked so put together in her crisp shirts.

If you have a favorite button down shirt that you would like to share, or if you love this shirt too (or absolutely loathe it) leave me a message. I always love your feedback. Thanks again for stopping by and have a great day!

-Caitlin Grace

Leave a Reply

